Stewart to remain ag minister following Sask. Party shuffle

Lyle Stewart will continue to work as Saskatchewan’s agriculture minister for the foreseeable future.

Premier Brad Wall shuffled his cabinet June 5, in what is expected to be the last major shuffle before a spring 2016 election.

About half the 17 member cabinet retained their portfolios; five moved, three rookies replaced three veterans and one former minister returned.

Stewart said he was happy to stay in agriculture and as minister responsible for crop insurance.

“You don’t get any choices in this process,” he said when asked if he had the option to take a different role. “I’m just very pleased that the premier made the choice he did in my case and many other cases. This looks to me like a pretty strong cabinet.”

He said he intends to continue on the same direction as a partner and support to the industry.

Stewart lost his legislative secretary in the shuffle.

Scott Moe, MLA for Rosthern-Shellbrook, was named environment minister and minister responsible for Water Security Agency and SaskWater.

“I’ve been a minister for a full three or four minutes now and I’m quite excited,” Moe said after the swearing-in ceremony.

Wall said Moe, who grew up on a grain farm and has an agriculture degree.

One ongoing issue he will have to handle is agricultural drainage. Outgoing minister Ken Cheveldayoff has promised new regulations in 2015.

Cheveldayoff will now serve as government house leader.

About the author


Stories from our other publications