Ag Notes

Nuffield scholarships awarded

The $15,000 Nuffield Canada Scholarships were awarded to four individuals this year:

  • Amy Cronin from Ontario, sponsored by Grain Farmers of Ontario, is a hog and cash crop producer alongside husband, Mike. The pair also farm in Iowa and Missouri. Cronin plans to study risk management strategies implemented by successful farm businesses, agricultural industries and governments around the world.
  • Jodi Souter of Saskatoon, sponsored by a Canadian Canola Growers Association scholarship, is a plant breeder who plans to seek insight into opportunities enabled by the Plant Breeders Rights Act.
  • Dawn Trautman is manager of Smart Agriculture and Food Innovation with Alberta Innovates and an Alberta Wheat Commission scholarship recipient. She plans to study the barriers for digital agriculture adoption for producers while also expanding on opportunities for technology companies.
  • Andrew Rosychuk is the owner of Rosy Farms, a haskap orchard on the Prairies and Nuffield Canada Alumni Fund Scholarship recipient. He plans to study the value in developing on-farm, medium scale processing units.

4-H Hall of Fame inductees welcomed

4-H Alberta announced that Andy Pittman and Stacy Price will be inducted into the 2020 Alberta 4-H Hall of Fame.

Pittman has been involved at all levels of 4-H and has been a member of a group of individuals tasked with moving 4-H Alberta forward. He was also the founding chair of the 4-H Alberta Sheep Show.

Price has been involved at every level of 4-H including serving on the Calgary Stampede 4-H parade committee for 23 years, as well as district executive and president of the 4-H Alberta Provincial Council.

An awards ceremony is planned for 2021, pending COVID-19 restrictions.

U of G to establish dairy centre

The University of Guelph announced the establishment of the Centre for Dairy Research, which will accelerate its ongoing research and innovation in the sector.

More than 60 U of G researchers study and collaborate on a wide range of dairy subjects, which the new centre will further facilitate.

Besides spurring new discoveries and improving the transfer of knowledge to stakeholders, the new research centre will help train future generations of dairy researchers and improve interdisciplinary collaborations.

Farm and Food Care award presented

Tiffany Martinka is the winner of the 2020 Farm and Food Care Champion Award.

Each year, the award recognizes a recipient who has engaged consumers about agriculture and worked to build public trust in Saskatchewan farming and food.

Martinka and her family operate a grain and broiler chicken farm in northeastern Saskatchewan.

She is a participant in the Chicken Farmers of Canada’s Young Farmers Program and has worked on numerous collaborations with Chicken Farmers of Saskatchewan, Farm and Food Care Saskatchewan and Canadian Food Focus to provide consumers with more information on how their food is grown.

New CEO appointed at Sask. Water agency

Shawn Jaques is leaving the Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corp. to head the province’s Water Security Agency.

Jaques is interim president and chief executive officer at the WSA, taking over from Susan Ross.

Taking over at SCIC as acting president and CEO is vice-president of operations Jeff Morrow.


Stories from our other publications