Ag Notes

AWC appoints new leadership

Gary Stanford is the new chair of the Alberta Wheat Commission, while Hannah Konschuh has been elected vice-chair.

Stanford of Magrath replaces Kevin Bender, who has reached the end of his allowed term on the commission’s board of directors. He has served on the board since its inception in 2012 and will term out a year from now.

Konschuh, who farms near Cluny, represents Region 2 and has served on the commission’s board since January 2017.

As well, Jason Lenz and Janine Paly have joined the board: Lenz replacing Terry Young as Region 3 director, joining Trevor Petersen, and Paly serving as director-at-large, replacing Bender. Both Bender and Young will step into regional representative roles in Region 3, joining Kent Erickson.

Applications sought for CABEF scholarships

The Canadian Agri-Business Education Foundation is seeking applications for its annual scholarship program.

The seven $2,500 scholarships are awarded annually to students entering or currently pursuing an agricultural or agri-food related program at a Canadian college, university or technical institution.

Now called the Pathways to Agri-Food Scholarships, they are funded through donations from the Canadian agriculture industry.

One scholarship will be awarded in each of the following jurisdictions: Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Québec, British Columbia/territories and Atlantic Canada.

Applicants will be assessed on their leadership attributes and written or video response to the question, “what do you consider to be the two main opportunities for the Canadian agriculture industry and which one inspires you the most?”

Application deadline is April 30.

For more information, visit


Stories from our other publications