Alta. vet association has new president

Dr. Pat Burrage has been appointed president of the Alberta Veterinary Medical Association for 2021, and officially took office Feb. 28.

Burrage owned and operated a mix animal practice in Bluffton, Alta., for the past 15 years, along with five other veterinarians, three registered veterinary technologists and four support staff. He is now employed at the Lethbridge Animal Clinic, where he does consulting to cow-calf and feedlot clients and mentors young veterinarians.

Burrage has been involved with the AVMA throughout his career and most recently held a six-year term with the association’s complaint review committee.

He continues to maintain a small herd of cows west of Bluffton, along with assorted dogs, cats, horses, donkeys, chickens and peacocks.

The AVMA also recently announced recipients of its service awards that were presented via a virtual ceremony Feb. 27. They are:

• Dr. Nick Nation – 2020 Meritorious Service Award

• Dr. Leighton Coma – 2020 Veterinarian of the Year Award

• Jessica Benoit, RVT — 2020 ABVMA Veterinary Technologist of the Year Award

• Dr. Jessica Law — 2020 Young Veterinarian of the Year Award

• Dr. Kathleen Keil — 2020 Communications Award

• Dr. Craig Hellquist — 2020 ABVMA Outstanding Mentor – Individual Award

• Central Veterinary Clinic — 2020 ABVMA Outstanding Mentor – Practice Award

At the same event the Alberta Veterinary Technologist Association presented five awards. They are:

• Dr. Lisa Lomsnes — 2020 ABVTA Meritorious Service Award

• Dr. Colleen Pratt — 2020 ABVTA Meritorious Service Award

• Sydney Frost, RVT — 2020 ABVTA Lucille Landals Emerging Leader Award

• Fiona Kowalczyk, RVT — 2020 ABVTA Appreciation Award

• Kate Simon, RVT — 2020 ABVTA Appreciation Award

About the author


Stories from our other publications