AG Notes


Ag college dean re-appointed

Mary Buhr has been re-appointed for a second term as dean of the University of Saskatchewan’s agriculture college.

She was first appointed dean in 2009 after coming from the University of Guelph as interim dean of the Ontario Agriculture College.

She earned a PhD in biology from the U of G in 1982 with research centring on sperm physiology and its relationship to fertility and artificial insemination.

Apple, potato research

Research focused on reducing crop input costs while improving marketable yields and margins for apple and potato growers has received $7 million in federal funding.

The research is being led by the Canadian Horticultural Council, which is also receiving more than $450,000 in additional funding for two more projects.

One will help market Canadian apple varieties at international trade shows and raise export potential in new markets.


The other will work on issues affecting market access for potato farmers and increase awareness of Canadian grown potatoes to an international market.

Making farms safer

The Canadian Agricultural Safety Association will use $3.4 in federal funding to improve farm safety.

The money, which will be delivered over five years, will help develop and promote farm safety standards aimed at improving the lives of Canadian farmers, their families and workers.

CASA also provides tools to help producers manage safety risks that can affect financial loss.

Entrepreneur award contest

Applicants have until noon 
April 3, EST, to enter the 2014 BDC Young Entrepreneur Award.


The Business Development Bank of Canada is sponsoring the event, which is open to Canadian business owners aged 18 to 35.

They will compete for a grand prize of $100,000 and a second prize of $25,000 in BDC consulting services.

Applicants must submit a short video describing their business’s turning point and how they will achieve growth for long-term success.

They also need to outline a project that could be started.

Joel Pinel of WOW Factor Media from Moose Jaw, Sask., was the Canadian winner last year.