Your reading list

SSGA names new leadership

The Saskatchewan Seed Growers Association has a new president and a new vice-president.

Mike Shewchuk, a pedigreed seed grower from Blaine Lake, Sask., took over as SSGA president at the organization’s 92nd annual general meeting held Jan. 13.

He replaces outgoing president Shawn Fraser.

The organization’s new vice-president is Kurt Printz, a seed grower from Gravelbourg, Sask.

Shewchuk, who had previously served as SSGA vice-president, said the organization, which represents nearly 500 pedigreed seed growers in the province, has many opportunities as it moves ahead.

“With the (Seeds Canada) amalgamation vote behind us, we start a new chapter,” he told members attending the Jan. 13 meeting.

“The next couple of years will no doubt be a new dynamic for seed growers as we forge our path forward through seed regulatory modernization as well as a new target operating model for CSGA (the Canadian Seed Growers Association)….”

In the summer of 2020, CSGA members rejected a proposal to merge with four other seed industry groups to form an all-encompassing seed industry organization called Seeds Canada.

The other groups involved in the Seeds Canada amalgamation are moving ahead with their own merger plans and are expected to have their new entity up and running in early 2021.

“With Seeds Canada now becoming a reality, we are also tasked with understanding where we fit in as seed growers when the new entity comes into play,” Shewchuk said.

“I believe there will be value in building relationships, including with both provincial and national producer groups and commissions, as well as government,” he added.

“Strengthening the voice of Saskatchewan seed growers will be essential going forward.”

The SSGA also welcomed incoming board members Adam Littman from Saltcoats, Sask., and Lyndon Stoll, from Delisle, Sask.

Fraser and Shewchuk thanked outgoing board members Wanda Jones from Wadena, Sask., and Cathy Fedoruk of Kamsack, Sask., for their service and dedication to the organization.

Jones served as an SSGA board member from 2017 to 2021.

Fedoruk served from 2011 to 2021 including a two-year term as president.


About the author


Stories from our other publications