AG Notes

Alta. wheat commission names executive

Todd Hames, who farms near Marwayne, Alta., will continue as chair at the Alberta Wheat Commission.

Jason Saunders, who farms near Taber, is the new vice-chair and will be entering his fifth year on the board.

He replaces Hannah Konschuh, who farms near Cluny as vice-chair, and who served in the role for two years. She will continue on the board, including board member of Cereals Canada.

Greg Sears, who farms near Sexsmith, is second vice-chair, which is a new addition to the commission’s executive.

Janine Paly, who farms near Thorhild, served as interim second vice-chair over the past year as the commission considered adding this position to the board.

Shawn Jacula, who farms near Vermillion and represents regions 4, was also welcomed as a new director.

Mould research receives funding

Assiniboine Community College has received $83,000 for research focused on managing white mould in dry beans grown in Manitoba’s climate.

The project received $41,850 from the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Ag Action Manitoba Program with matching funding from the Manitoba Pulse and Soybean Growers.

It will be carried out in three phases over two years, starting with optimizing a disease severity model, then developing and releasing a weather-based FADST (fungicide application decision support tool) that Manitoba producers can use to manage white mould in dry beans.

To optimize dry bean yields, the FADST will combine information surrounding weather data, white mould severity and agronomic practices to help producers make informed fungicide application decisions.


Stories from our other publications