Ag Notes

FCC appoints directors

James Laws and Michele Hengen have been reappointed to Farm Credit Canada’s board of directors for a three-year term.

Rita Achrekar, Sylvie Chagnon and Michael Tees are appointed to a four-year term.

College offers new BSc degree

Lethbridge College’s new bachelor of agriculture science program is expected to launch in September.

The program is comparable to bachelor of science degree programs offered at the University of Alberta and University of Saskatchewan.

Graduating students will earn a professional agrologist designation. The program also prepares students to pursue further MSc and PhD training.

Feds fund Alberta infrastructure

Through the Municipal Asset Management Program the federal government plans to invest $985,500 in 21 new projects in Alberta.

The program is designed to help municipalities strengthen local infrastructure planning and decision-making through investments in activities such as asset management training, technology and software enhancements, and information sharing.

Three funding examples include:

  • The Town of Whitecourt will ensure infrastructure decisions align with the town’s strategic plan and organizational goals.
  • The Town of Legal plans to inspect and analyze the condition of its sanitary sewer systems through closed-circuit television as well as undertake water network assessment and modeling.
  • The Village of Donnelly and its neighbours plan to create an asset inventory to inform future investment decisions.

Students receive agri-food scholarships

Seven students from across the country are recipients of the 2021 Pathways to Agri-Food Scholarships, sponsored by the Canadian Agri-Business Education Foundation.

The $2,500 scholarships are awarded to students entering or pursuing an agricultural or agri-food related program at a Canadian college, university or technical institution.

Applicants were assessed on their leadership attributes and written or video response to the question “Name a challenge that you think agriculture can help solve. How will your future career in agriculture allow you to play a role in solving that challenge?

This year’s recipients are:

  • Carleigh MacLeod, Kinkora, P.E.I.
  • Marika Lemieux, Coaticook, Que.
  • Maggie-Jo Hickson, Oakwood, Ont.
  • Mireille Krul, Winnipeg, Man.
  • Marika van den Berg, White City, Sask.
  • Julie Sharp, Lacombe, Alta.
  • Amanda Crane, North Vancouver, B.C.

Beef contest eyes young guns

The deadline for the Alberta Beef Producers Young Guns Contest is July 30.

Participants age eight to 21 involved in Beef 4-H, junior cattle shows or beef production have an opportunity to win one of three prizes: first place — $1,000; second place — $500; third place — $250.

Entries must respond to the question: what do you think will be the beef industry’s greatest innovation in the years to come?

Entries may be submitted as a written piece, presentation, video, social media campaign, blog post or media pitch.

Send contest submission and entry form to:

Katelyn Laverdure, stakeholder communications, Alberta Beef Producers, 165, 6815 8 Street NE, Calgary, AB T2E 7H7, or email


Stories from our other publications