Ag Notes

FCC fund donates to local projects

Farm Credit Canada has donated $150,000 through the FCC Regina Spirit Fund to 18 local charitable and non-profit organizations in Regina to support community enhancement projects.

The fund has supported the completion of 211 projects since it was created in 2008 worth more than $1.7 million.

The next application period will be open in January.

For more information, visit

Dairy commission CEO reappointed

The federal government has reappointed Serge Riendeau as chief executive officer of the Canadian Dairy Commission for a one year-term, effective May 14.

Riendeau was first appointed CEO of the commission in 2018, during which time he supported the negotiations for the new Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement and chaired the Canadian Milk Supply Management Committee.

He previously operated a dairy farm for more than 40 years and served for 26 years on the board of Agropur, Canada’s largest dairy processor, including 15 years as president.

Riendeau also supports charities for children facing bullying and violence.

His term will end in May 2022, and the government is launching appointment processes for a new full-time CEO and a part-time chair for the commission.

For more information, visit

Lakeland College launches new programs

Applications are open for Lakeland College’s three new programs starting this fall. They will feature hands-on learning opportunities and will be offered at the Vermilion, Alta., campus:

  • Agricultural sustainability (two year) diploma program features courses in common agricultural production practices and foundational plant, soil and livestock sciences, as well as ecology and habitat management technologies.
  • Post-bachelor (one year) certificate in commercial agriculture production program provides the practical skills necessary to appreciate the foundational aspects of commercial agriculture production.
  • Applied environmental sciences (one year) certificate will prepare graduates for entry-level environmental jobs with skills in aquatic habitat assessments, plant identification, water monitoring and sampling, wetlands and soil classification, and environmental assessment.

Several information webinars will be held in April.

Ontario Pork holds elections

John de Bruyn, a producer from Oxford County, is the incoming chair for the Ontario Pork board of directors. Arno Schober, a producer from Simcoe County, is vice-chair.

De Bruyn previously served as vice-chair and has been instrumental in securing support for a new research barn. Schober previously served as chair of the research committee.

Former board chair Eric Schwindt will remain as a director.

Oliver Haan from the Marysville area recently completed his term after serving as a director for 15 years.

Bruce Hudson, a pork producer and delegate from the Ottawa Valley, was acclaimed as a new board member representing Zone 4.

Other board members include Doug Ahrens, Chris Cossitt, Mike Mitchell, Maaike Campbell and Tara Terpstra.


Stories from our other publications