Ag Notes

Dairy farms declared master breeders

Three western Canadian dairy farms are among 20 recipients of Holstein Canada’s master breeder status for 2020.

Lavendar Farms of Abbotsford, B.C., Thornspyc Dairy of Lacombe, Alta., and Donfield Farms of Brandon were announced as recipients of the designation on Jan. 25.

They joined seven other recipients from Ontario, seven from Quebec, two from Prince Edward Island and one from Nova Scotia.

The master breeder program recognizes farms that breed Holstein cattle with high production, outstanding conformation and great reproduction, health and longevity.

Dahl joins Manitoba Pork

Cam Dahl will join Manitoba Pork Feb. 22 as its new general manager.

He replaces Andrew Dickson, who is retiring after 15 years.

Dahl most recently was chief strategy officer at Cereals Canada, but has also been the general manager of Manitoba Beef Producers, a commissioner for the Canadian Grain Commission and executive director of Grain Growers of Canada.

Alta. canola group elects new directors

Kevin Serfas from Turin, Alta., has been elected chair and Roger Chevraux of Killam vice-chair of the Alberta Canola Producers Commission’s 2021 board of directors following a virtual annual general meeting.

New director, Justin Nanninga from Neerlandia, was elected by acclamation to represent Alberta Canola’s region 5.

2021 board of directors:

  • Region 1: Dan Doll, Fairview
  • Region 2: Andre Harpe, Valhalla Centre
  • Region 3: Denis Guindon, Falher
  • Region 4: John Mayko, Mundare
  • Region 5: Justin Nanninga, Neerlandia
  • Region 6: Wayne Schneider, Nisku
  • Region 7: Mike Ammeter, Sylvan Lake
  • Region 8: Ian Chitwood, Airdrie
  • Region 9: Kevin Serfas, Turin
  • Region10: Cale Staden, Mannville
  • Region 11: Roger Chevraux, Killam
  • Region 12: Holly White, Rolling Hills

Ag in the Classroom honours teacher

Gary Funk of MEI Secondary in Abbotsford, B.C., is the recipient of the 2020 British Columbia Agriculture in the Classroom Outstanding Teacher in Agriculture award.

Each year, BCAITC acknowledges a teacher that is an ambassador for agricultural education and makes it a priority for their students to learn about food and farming.

As a social studies teacher for Grades 9 to 12 students, Funk helped integrate agriculture and environmental education into his curriculum.

He involved students, colleagues and community partners in revitalizing underutilized farmland in the Abbotsford Agricultural Land Reserve and developing curriculum for an agriculture program in the K-12 school.

New directors for Lethbridge ex board

Bev Lanz was elected 55th president of the Lethbridge and District Exhibition board of directors.

Also elected was first vice-president Ryan Miller and second vice-president Russ Zemp.

Members of the board include Henry Doeve (second term elected to the board), Mark Sayers (third term elected to the board) and Heath Wright (first term elected to board).

Continuing their terms on the board are Bruce Galts (who becomes past-president), Rick Neudorf, Steve Campbell (County of Lethbridge appointee), Cathy Maxwell and Don Strankman.


Stories from our other publications