Ag Notes

Alta. man enters horse hall of fame

The late Hans Hansma (1917-1996) of Bar H5 Cutbank Farms near Granum, Alta., has been inducted into the American Quarter Horse Association’s Hall of Fame.

Those chosen for induction are recognized for their lifetime of accomplishments and service.

Hansma helped found the Quarter Horse Association of Alberta and promoted American Quarter horses in Europe.

He was a founding director of the Alberta Stakes and Futurities Association, which became the Canadian Supreme.

He was also a founding director of the Alberta Reined Cow Horse Association and the Junior Quarter Horse Association of Alberta.

He has been inducted into the Canadian Supreme Hall of Fame.

Since his first horse in 1963, it is estimated he individually or in partnership bred more than 2,000 Quarter horses.

New research chair appointed

Chandra Singh is Lethbridge College’s research chair for the Centre for Applied Research in Agricultural Engineering and Technology.

Singh’s work will also include the creation of an Advanced Post-harvest Innovation Centre for development of post-harvest engineering solutions.

Raised on a small farm in India, his professional experience includes five years working as principal engineer and grain management specialist with OPI systems in Calgary, where he focused on improving post-harvest handling and storage of fresh produce and grains.

He was most recently an associate professor of engineering at the University of Southern Australia, jointly co-appointed by Grains Research and Development Corp., Australia’s national research organization.

Organics scholarship launched

SaskOrganics has launched a $1,000 education scholarship award for post-secondary students, made possible by financial support from the North West Saskatchewan Organic Producer Group.

To help ensure the funds are self-sustaining, the SaskOrganics’ Board will allocate five cents to the fund from every dollar raised from donations to the organization.

Applicants must write a short essay about why they are passionate about organic food and farming.

Applications will be accepted between Nov., 1 and Dec. 31.

More information is at

L.E.A.D. scholarship winners announced

4-H Canada, in partnership with Canadian National Railway, announced the recipients of the 2019 4-H Canada Leadership Excellence Awards of Distinction (L.E.A.D.).

The annual scholarship recognizes four outstanding members who demonstrate personal development, community impact, and leadership excellence in each of 4-H Canada’s four leadership development pillars.

The recipients are:

  • Douglas Sroka, Saskatchewan: community engagement and communications pillar
  • Josiah Lodewyk, Ontario: science and technology pillar
  • Riley Callahan, New Brunswick: environment and healthy living pillar
  • Courtney Taylor, Alberta: sustainable agriculture and food security pillar

Each L.E.A.D. recipient will receive a $20,000 scholarship toward their four-year, post-secondary studies, an all-expenses-paid trip to attend the 4-H Canada Leadership Awards taking place Feb. 10 in Ottawa, and ongoing mentorship from an expert in their field of study.


Stories from our other publications