Ag Notes

4-H Canada issues alumni award

Elaine Froese is the first recipient of the 4-H Canada Distinguished Alumni Award.

The award recognizes outstanding leadership contributions of 4-H alumni across Canada in the areas of community engagement and communications, science and technology, environment and healthy living or sustainable agriculture and food security.

Froese is recognized for her accomplishments in community engagement and communications.

The award is given to former 4-H members that exemplify the values of the 4-H program in their everyday lives.

A farm business coach and author, Froese joined 4-H at age nine as a member of the Dugald 4-H club in Manitoba.

More information is available at

Food integrity centre president to step down

Crystal Mackay is stepping down as president of the Canadian Centre for Food Integrity.

She has served in the position for the past decade.

Mackay is pursuing opportunities in public speaking, communications and training and development.

4-H Canada bestows honourary membership

4-H Canada has made Kevin Charlebois an honourary member of the organization.

Charlebois, who is president, chief investment officer and director of Soundvest Capital Management Ltd., has been 4-H Canada’s investment portfolio adviser for more than 40 years, beginning his work for the organization in 1975.

The 4-H Canada Honourary Membership is bestowed upon those who are dedicated and passionate contributors to the 4-H movement in Canada. It was created in 1950 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to 4-H in Canada.

There are now 69 inductees as lifetime honourary members.

Farm Forum returns to Sask.

The Farm Forum Event will return to Saskatoon next year.

The three-day farm conference had previously been held in the city but had taken place in Calgary for the past three years.

Glacier FarmMedia, which also owns The Western Producer, acquired the show last fall.

It will be held Dec. 3-5. 

AFAC seeks award nominees

Alberta Farm Animal Care is seeking nominations for its awards of distinction.

The nomination deadline is Feb. 15.

There are three award categories:

  • The Award of Distinction for Communication honours those who take an active role in effectively telling the story about livestock issues and informing the public and agri-food industry about farm animal care in a factual and honest way that is credible and builds trust.
  • The Award of Distinction for Industry Leadership honours those who integrate animal welfare into their core business strategy, striving to achieve more than expected regarding animal welfare and setting a higher standard.
  • The Award of Distinction for Innovation honours those who have developed a new process, product or source of knowledge that has made a significant impact on improving the welfare of livestock and the industry.

Recipients will be informed by March 1 and invited to receive the award at the Livestock Care Conference on March 21 in Olds, Alta.

For more information, contact Kristen Hall at


Stories from our other publications