Ag Notes

SaskFlax seeks election nominations

Nominations are now open for the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission’s director elections.

Forms are available at, and nominations will be accepted until Sept. 14 at 12 noon.

The elections will aim to fill three vacant positions on the commission’s board. Dave Sefton and Erwin Hanley will have completed their maximum number of terms as of the end of the year and Jordon Hillier is an incumbent.

If elections proceed, information about candidates and voting procedures will be made public in October. Producers will also be mailed voting instructions and documents at that time and the election will be held from Oct. 19 to Nov. 30.

Voters will have the option to vote online or by paper ballot.

Registered producers (any producer who has sold flax in either of the 2016-17 or 2017-18 crop years and has not requested a check-off refund for sales in the 2017-18 crop year) will receive an election package in the mail, containing instructions on how to vote by their preferred option.

Results will be announced mid-December.

For more information, contact executive director Wayne Thompson at and 306-664-1901.

4-H scholarships announced

Twelve 4-H members recently received TD 4-H Agriculture Scholarships for 2018: Elizabeth Ferguson of British Columbia, Emmett Sawyer of Alberta, Leah Trenson of Alberta, Morgan Bullerwell of Saskatchewan, Brett Rumpel of Saskatchewan, Heidi Doelger of Manitoba, Sarah Dean of Ontario, Edward Larocque of Ontario, Brogan Keenan of Quebec, Austin Versloot of New Brunswick, Mikaela Rhodenizer of Nova Scotia and Johnathan Lauwerijssen of Prince Edward Island.

The recipients receive $2,500 each to pursue post-secondary studies in the field of agriculture, agricultural science or agricultural business beginning this fall.

For more information, visit

Check-off agency announces new board

The Canadian Beef Check-Off Agency has a new board for 2018-19.

The primary producer representatives are Linda Allison of British Columbia, Jeff Smith of Alberta, Doug Sawyer of Alberta, Chad Ross of Saskatchewan, Heinz Reimer of Manitoba, Jack Chaffe of Ontario, Kirk Jackson of Quebec, Charles Dyer of New Brunswick, Larry Weatherby of Nova Scotia and David Francis of Prince Edward Island.

Canadian Meat Council representatives are Russ Mallard of Atlantic Beef Products, Alexandre Fontaine of Montpak, Mike Kennedy of Cargill and Anthony Petronaciv of Ryding Regency.

Lonnie Lake of Sysco Canada and Steve Christie of Sysco Canada (temporary substitute) represent retail and foodservices, while Coral Manastersky of Maple Leaf Foods represent I.E. Canada.

Heinz Reimer was elected chair, Chad Ross is vice-chair, Larry Weatherby is governance chair and Lonnie Lake is finance chair.

Members of the agency’s marketing committee were also announced.

Elected members are Helen Lanford of Boston Pizza International, Becky Bevacqua of McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada, Hubert Lau of BIXSco, Mike Guest of Western Prime Meat Processors, Jack Chaffe of Ontario and Jeff Smith of Alberta.

Appointed members are Mike Kennedy of Cargill, Anthony Petronaci of Ryding Regency, Russ Mallard of Atlantic Beef Products, Alexandre Fontaine of Montpak, Coral Manastersky of Maple Leaf Foods and David Francis of Prince Edward Island.

The marketing committee’s officers are chair Mike Kennedy, vice-chair Coral Manastersky and finance chair Russ Mallard.

FCC donates to community groups

Farm Credit Canada is giving $1.5 million through its FCC AgriSpirit Fund to 84 community groups across Canada to support rural capital projects.

This year, the fund awarded between $5,000 and $25,000 for community improvement projects that enhance the lives of residents or contribute to sustainability in communities. Examples include equipment purchase and installation, energy efficient building improvements and repairs and the purchase of rescue and fire equipment.

Over the past 15 years, the FCC AgriSpirit Fund has supported 1,170 projects, an investment of more than $13.5 million.

The next application period opens in spring 2019.



Stories from our other publications