Sask. stock growers name new president, oppose labelling plan

SWIFT CURRENT, Sask. — Bill Huber of Lipton is the new president of the Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association.

He takes over from Shane Jahnke of Gouldtown, who served for two years.

Rounding out the executive for the coming year are first vice-president Kelcy Elford from Caronport, second vice-president Garner Deobald from Hodgeville and finance chair Jeff Yorga from Flintoft.

Eight directors were elected to two-year terms during the organization’s recent annual meeting: Jerry Chanig, Mankota; Keith Day, Lacadena; Glen Elford, Milestone; Calvin Gavelin, McCord; Joe Gilchrist, Maple Creek; Norm Nordgulen, Rockglen; Barry Olney, Estevan; and Barry Wasko, Eastend.

The members passed a dozen resolutions at the meeting, including one to lobby the provincial government to change the Trespass to Property Act, which requires all people entering private land to ask permission and one asking for a plan to eradicate wild pigs.

Members are opposed to the current front-of-package labelling proposal recommended by Health Canada and asked the board to lobby the federal government to not allow the terms meat and hamburger on the labels of laboratory- and plant-based protein products.

They want rural municipalities to work together to purchase fire-fighting equipment.

As well, members passed several resolutions dealing with conservation issues and species at risk. They want Ottawa to renew and expand funding for the Species at Risk Partnership on Agricultural Lands program, which expires in 2020, and they want the federal government to fund a conservation business plan to strategically target investment to enhance SARPAL programs.

Members also asked their board to lobby Ottawa to invest part of its Nature Fund into fixed-term, renewable agreement programs that ranchers would use to achieve “ecosystem-scale conservation.” They noted that ranchers don’t often participate in conservation easements by land trusts.

The annual TESA award for environmental stewardship was presented to Blain and Naomi Hjertaas of Redvers.

About the author


Stories from our other publications