New conservative ministers get trade, agriculture portfolios

Conservative leader Andrew Scheer named a new shadow cabinet last week and it doesn’t include two of his Saskatchewan colleagues.

David Anderson was agriculture critic prior to the duties announced Aug. 30.

Taking over at international trade is Dean Allison from Niagara West, while Luc Berthold from Megantic-L’Erable and associate John Barlow from Foothills in Alberta will handle agriculture and food.

Lisa Raitt from Milton remains deputy leader. Transport critic duties stay with Kelly Block from Carlton Trail-Eagle Creek (Sask.)

Former agriculture critic Chris Warkentin, from Grande Prairie-Mackenzie (Alta.), will serve as deputy opposition house leader and question period co-ordinator.

A full list of the shadow cabinet can be found at

About the author



Stories from our other publications