AG Notes

Annual Native Prairie Appreciation Week

June 18-24 is Native Prairie Appreciation Week in Saskatchewan.

Unique to the province, it is celebrated each year in partnership with the Saskatchewan Prairie Conservation Action Plan. 

The week is dedicated to raising awareness and appreciation of native prairie ecosystems.

Producers who use sustainable land management practices contribute to the long-term economic health of the province and protect plant and wildlife species for future generations.

Native prairie ecosystems play a valuable role in the environment by providing wildlife habitat, contributing clean drinking water and providing recreational opportunities. They are also significant sources of carbon sequestration and storage.

A variety of activities planned across the province include urban awareness booths at the Regina, Saskatoon and Swift Current farmers markets, an activity checklist and a youth poster contest.

For more information, visit or call 306-352-0472.

Angus association names new board

Brett Wildman of Sangudo, Alta., was recently voted president of the Canadian Angus Association.

David Sibbald of Calgary moved into the past-president position, and Trevor Welch of Glassville, N.B., is president-elect.

Wildman, elected in 2014, is the third member of his family to serve on the Canadian Angus Association board.

He owns and operates Wildman Livestock with his family.

Welch is the fourth generation of his family to farm on their land: Garvie Mountain Angus. He is a professional engineer, a licensed land surveyor and the owner of Welch Surveys Ltd.

Sibbald and his family operate SSS Red Angus, which was established in 1972. He is a fifth-generation rancher and is also the president and chair of the Calgary Stampede and a director of the Canadian Beef Breeds Council.

In addition to the new executive, George Baxter was elected in Alberta and Graham McLean in Ontario.

Maritime director Welch, Quebec director Ryan Currie and Manitoba director Shawn Birmingham were all acclaimed in their respective regions and have begun serving their second consecutive three-year terms.



Stories from our other publications