In the winners’ circle at auctioneer competition

Darren Rebalkin of Meadow Lake Stockyards at Meadow Lake, Sask., has been selected champion auctioneer for 2017.

Rebalkin won the award during the Canadian Livestock Auctioneering Championships held May 11-14 in Lethbridge.

Other winners include:

  • Ryan Konynenbelt of Nobleford, Alta., representing the Southern Alberta Livestock Exchange won reserve champion.
  • Albert Carroll of Omemee, Ont., with Ontario Stockyards Inc., placed third.
  • Tyler Slawinski of McCreary, Man., with Gladstone Auction Mart placed fourth.
  • Donnie Peacock of Heartland Livestock Services in Swift Current, Sask., placed fifth.
  • Jordie Waters of Nanton, Alta., from Foothills Auctioneers/VJV Ponoka., was named rookie of the year.
  • Ken McDonald was selected as most congenial auctioneer. McDonald from Indian Head, Sask., works at the Weyburn Livestock Exchange.
  • William Haalstra of Dunnville, Ont., with the Ontario Livestock Exchange was named most improved auctioneer.
  • The people’s choice award was won by Joe Perlich with Perlich Bros. Auction Mart at Lethbridge.
  • The LMAC industry champion award went to Danny Skeels of Rimbey, Alta.
  • The Canadian Angus Association stockyard of the year award went to Heartland Livestock Services at Swift Current, Sask.


Stories from our other publications